School Logo

Interactive Bar

Google Services





New Curriculum 2022

The four purposes of the New Curriculum


The four purposes of the curriculum, as set out iSuccessful Futures, have guided the whole design and development of Curriculum for Wales 2022. They are the starting point for all decisions in respect of Curriculum for Wales 2022 and school-level curricula should be designed and guided by these same four purposes. ‘Curriculum’ includes all the learning experiences and assessment activities planned in pursuit of the four purposes of the curriculum, which are to develop children and young people as:


  • ambitious, capable learners, ready to learn throughout their lives
  • enterprising, creative contributors, ready to play a full part in life and work
  • ethical, informed citizens of Wales and the world
  • healthy, confident individuals, ready to lead fulfilling lives as valued members of society.


Curriculum for Wales 2022 is designed to help all learners realise these four purposes. Each purpose is more than a headline; it is also described in terms of key characteristics. In their entirety they should underpin all teaching and learning in Wales.


The Curriculum for Wales 2022 guidance has been designed to assist teacher agency and support education professionals and practitioners to enjoy the autonomy to make school-level decisions within a common framework, and to design and develop curricula relevant to the context and specific needs of learners. This also applies to funded non-maintained settings.


Curriculum for Wales 2022 has also been developed to reflect the strengths that the Foundation Phase has brought to education in Wales. The Foundation Phase ethos, principles and pedagogy will continue to be central to the delivery of early years education and have been incorporated across Curriculum for Wales 2022 to ensure it is appropriate and accessible for all practitioners and learners.


Successful Futures Document


Areas of learning and experience


Curriculum for Wales 2022 organises learning around six areas of learning and experience which are:


Each of the areas of learning and experience has been designed to support learners to realise the four purposes of the curriculum, and provides the starting point and aspiration when developing a school-level curriculum. They encompass existing subjects and disciplines, and are intended to promote collaboration and cross-disciplinary school-level curriculum development and design.


The guidance for each area of learning and experience includes:

  • a statement explaining how the area of learning and experience supports the four purposes of the curriculum
  • statements of what matters in learning
  • principles of progression, including achievement outcomes developed around progression in the area of learning and experience
  • planning for learning support.


The areas of learning and experience are designed to operate together as part of a holistic curriculum. They are not intended to be watertight compartments but instead allow learning to be drawn from across the areas of learning and experience. Decisions as to how these should translate into day-to-day activities should take place in settings and schools. Learning should be coherent and planned across the different areas of learning and experience, building on inherent links, dependencies and interdependencies.